Press Releases

On June 6, 2012, Congressman Harold "Hal" Rogers (KY-05) received the 2012 Adam Smith Award from the Friends of Adam Smith Foundation and the Business Industry Political Action Committee (BIPAC) . Former Governor Hayley Barbour and BIPAC President Greg Casey, presented Rogers with the Public Official Award for his outstanding leadership and commitment to preserving the spirit of free enterprise (pictured). Rogers was honored through a medallion ceremony and tribute video at the 2012 Adam Smith Awards Dinner at the Andrew W. Mellon Auditorium in Washington, DC on Wednesday night.

“Over my years of public service, I have always believed in the principles of the free enterprise; it is a true honor to receive the Adam Smith Award tonight,” said Rogers. “Our country is built upon his spirit of entrepreneurship, creativity, and the idea that one can work hard to be successful and get ahead in life. Unfortunately, over-spending, over-taxation, and over-regulation are hindering the American dream. We must restore the spirit of Adam Smith and continue to inspire and encourage innovators to take risks and follow their dreams so that we can create tomorrow’s jobs. I am grateful for organizations like BIPAC and the Friends of Adam Smith that are committed to making this vision possible.”

Each year, the Adam Smith Award recognizes one business leader and one public official whose life work epitomizes a commitment to the concept and beliefs espoused by Adam Smith. This year, Rogers and Senior Vice-President of BIPAC, Bernadette Budde, were honored for their commitment and achievements in advancing the principles of free enterprise; specifically, limited government, free market, low taxes, respect for private property, and a stable economy. The Adam Smith Awards Dinner consisted of 500 attendees including Members of Congress, business executives of top corporations and community leaders. Also on hand were a number of Kentucky’s fine business leaders.

Past Adam Smith Award recipients include Speaker John Boehner (R-Ohio), Gov. Haley Barbour (R-Miss.), Sens. Kay Bailey Hutchison (R-Texas), Jon Kyl (R-Ariz.), Ben Nelson (D-Neb.), Larry Craig (R-Idaho), Reps. Cass Ballenger (R-N.C.), Anne Northup (R-Ky.), Charlie Stenholm (D-Texas).

Rogers has served Kentucky’s 5th Congressional District since 1981. With a focus on economic development, job creation, fighting illegal drugs and preserving southern and eastern Kentucky’s natural treasures, he has a reputation for listening to his constituents and fighting for the region he represents. For more information, visit