Press Releases

U.S. Congressman Hal Rogers (KY-05) announced that late yesterday President Obama extended a federal disaster declaration to include Clay, Jackson, Knott, Leslie, Magoffin, Menifee, Pulaski, and Wayne Counties to assist with the flooding and damage that occurred during the May 1-3, 2010 severe storms. The Department of Homeland Security (DHS) and Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) have been authorized to provide appropriate assistance for the Commonwealth of Kentucky’s severe storm emergency.

“These early May mudslides, high waters, and torrential rains have hit counties across our Commonwealth, but this is great news for families in our region facing severe property losses and communities with budgets stretched thin already,” said Rogers. “With this expansion of eligible counties for disaster assistance, FEMA has recognized that we’ll need a helping hand to get back on our feet. While more challenges lie ahead, this declaration will start to move things forward so we can begin to rebuild and recover from these storms. I strongly encourage residents and public officials to closely document and photograph damages and any expenses associated with this storm.”

Congressman Rogers, along with the Kentucky Congressional Delegation, sent a letter to President Obama in support of Governor Beshear’s May 3, 2010 request for a disaster declaration. On May 11, 2010 the President declared a federal disaster declaration for 11 counties throughout Kentucky. To date, 59 counties have now been deemed eligible for some form of federal disaster assistance across the Commonwealth. Jackson, Leslie, Magoffin, Menifee, and Pulaski counties are now eligible for individual assistance (available to individuals and households for certain storm-related services/repairs) and Clay, Jackson, Knott, Leslie, Magoffin, Pulaski and Wayne counties are eligible for public assistance (available to state and local governments and certain non-profit organizations for repairs/emergency work).

Individuals and local governments claiming a storm-related loss and seeking assistance from storm damages should contact the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) at (800) 621-3362 or TTY (800) 462-7585 for persons with speech or hearing disabilities. Additional information about this disaster and required forms to apply for assistance are available at In order to apply for individual assistance, an applicant should have on hand his/her social security number, current and pre-disaster address, telephone number to be contacted, insurance information, total household annual income, bank routing and account numbers, and a description of losses that were caused by the disaster. The disaster declaration number is FEMA-1912-DR.

As a senior member of the House Appropriations Committee, Rogers works to secure funding for important initiatives in the fifth Congressional District.