Press Releases

WASHINGTON, DC - U.S. Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell, Senator Rand Paul, and Representatives Hal Rogers (KY-05), John Yarmuth (KY-03), Brett Guthrie (KY-02), Thomas Massie (KY-04), Andy Barr (KY-06), and James Comer (KY-01) sent a letter to President Donald Trump expressing their support for Governor Matt Bevin’s request for a federal disaster declaration for Kentucky.
In the letter to the President, the delegation wrote, “From February 6 through March 10, 2019, the Commonwealth of Kentucky experienced severe weather that produced strong wind and torrential rain, which caused severe flooding, landslides, mudslides, and the tragic death of three individuals.” 
Additionally, they wrote the severe weather affected numerous counties in Kentucky which caused “extensive damage exceeding the ability of the state government and localities to effectively respond. As the Governor conveyed in his [April 3, 2019] letter, the Commonwealth has well surpassed the $6.5 million expenditure threshold required for consideration of federal disaster assistance in accordance with the provisions of the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act. We ask for your timely consideration of the Governor’s disaster declaration request, which would aid Kentucky communities and families severely impacted by this most recent disaster.”