Press Releases

WASHINGTON, DC -- U.S. Rep. Harold "Hal" Rogers (KY-05) applauds President Trump for issuing a Major Disaster Declaration for Kentucky, releasing federal funds to help communities across Southern and Eastern Kentucky recover from severe storms, flooding, landslides and mudslides that occurred February 9-14, 2018. 

Eighteen counties in Kentucky's Fifth Congressional District are included in the declaration for Public Assistance through FEMA, including: Bell, Breathitt, Clay, Floyd, Harlan, Johnson, Knott, Knox, Lawrence, Lee, Leslie, Letcher, Magoffin, Martin, Owsley, Perry, Pike and Whitley Counties. 

"This federal declaration will provide our hardest hit counties with the resources necessary to clean up and repair or replace damaged facilities, roadways, bridges, and the like," said Congressman Rogers. "I'm grateful for the flood control projects that are in place along the Cumberland and Big Sandy Rivers that protected our communities from further damage."

The entire Commonwealth of Kentucky is eligible for assistance through the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program. 

For more information, visit