Press Releases

Today, Congressman Harold “Hal” Rogers (KY-05) announced that President Obama has extended the recent federal disaster declaration to include individuals in Bath, Campbell, Carroll, Grant, Martin, Montgomery, and Rowan counties.  This declaration will make available Individual Assistance to address damages and losses that occurred from the severe storms, hurricane force winds, multiple tornados and flooding beginning on February 29, 2012. The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has been authorized to provide appropriate assistance for the Commonwealth of Kentucky’s severe storm emergency.

“This is welcome news for many, but not all families in our region.  I’ve been told damage assessments are continuing and we know this is only the beginning,” said Rogers. “Our families face enormous challenges with home repair, finding temporary housing, replacing vehicles, and getting life back to normal.  These are trying times, but with the help of these disaster aid funds, we are taking a step in the right direction toward recovery.  As I told FEMA Administrator Fugate this week, our people are strong, but this is more than our local efforts can overcome – we need a firm commitment and sustained help to get back on our feet.”

Earlier this week, Rogers asked for a firm commitment from FEMA Admin Fugate, specifically noting the need for Federal assistance in his district, notably Magoffin County. In addition, Rogers, along with the Kentucky Congressional Delegation, sent a letter to President Obama in support of Governor Beshear’s request for a disaster declaration.  On March 6, 2012 the President issued a major disaster declaration for seven Kentucky counties for Individual Assistance (IA). Now there are 14 counties in total, Bath, Campbell, Carroll, Grant, Johnson, Kenton, Laurel, Lawrence, Martin, Menifee, Montgomery, Morgan, Pendleton, and Rowan. On March 9, 2012, the President extended this federal disaster declaration to 7 counties and now 14 counties are eligible for Individual Assistance (available to individuals and households for certain storm-related services/repairs). Eligibility for Public Assistance (available to state and local governments and certain non-profit organizations for repairs/emergency work) is still being evaluated at this time.

Individuals and local governments claiming a storm-related loss and seeking assistance from storm damages should contact the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) at (800) 621-3362 or TTY (800) 462-7585 for persons with speech or hearing disabilities.  Additional information about this disaster and required forms to apply for assistance are available at  In order to apply for individual assistance, an applicant should have on hand his/her social security number, current and pre-disaster address, telephone number to be contacted, insurance information, total household annual income, bank routing and account numbers, and a description of losses that were caused by the disaster.  The disaster declaration number is FEMA-4057-DR.