Press Releases

Today U.S. Rep. Harold "Hal" Rogers (KY-05) announced more counties in Southern and Eastern Kentucky have been added to the FEMA Disaster Declaration (FEMA-1976-DR) stemming from the severe storms that rapidly moved through the region April 22, 2011 through May 20, 2011. Federal funds will be available to help some individuals and communities recover from the damage left behind by the severe storms, tornadoes and flooding.

"The people of Southern and Eastern Kentucky are still trying to recover from the devastating effects of the severe storms, but federal financial assistance is on the way," said Rogers. "I encourage eligible families and businesses to be diligent in documenting damage and to apply for assistance as soon as possible."

The following counties in Southern and Eastern Kentucky are now eligible for federal financial assistance:

Individual Assistance (IA) is available to Lawrence and Pike Counties.
Public Assistance (PA) is available to Bath, Clay, Floyd, Harlan, Johnson, Knott, Lawrence, Lee, Magoffin, Menifee, Morgan, Owsley, Perry and Rowan Counties.

All counties in the Commonwealth of Kentucky are eligible to apply for assistance under the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program.

Additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the Commonwealth and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

Click here for more information on FEMA-1976-DR.