Press Releases

WASHINGTON, DC -- U.S. Rep. Harold "Hal" Rogers (KY-05) announces President Joe Biden has approved a federal disaster declaration for the Commonwealth of Kentucky, expediting federal resources for flood relief efforts in Eastern Kentucky. 

"Even as search and rescue efforts continue, this expedited disaster declaration from the President means federal assistance will be immediately available to help our people in Eastern Kentucky," said Congressman Rogers, Dean of the U.S. House of Representatives. "The work ahead is daunting for our communities and federal assistance will be critical for the long-term recovery process. I am grateful for the strong support of the entire Kentucky Federal Delegation in raising Governor Beshear's prompt request to the President's immediate attention. As we address the crises in each county, I will work diligently to ensure federal assistance is maximized for our communities."

According to the President's major disaster declaration, "federal funding is available to the commonwealth and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency protective measures in the counties of Breathitt, Clay, Floyd, Johnson, Knott, Leslie, Letcher, Magoffin, Martin, Owsley, Perry, Pike, and Wolfe. Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures for the entire commonwealth."

Damage assessments are continuing in other areas, and more counties and additional forms of assistance may be designated after the assessments are fully completed.

For more information about Congressman Rogers' work in Washington and at home in Kentucky, visit or follow him on social media