Press Releases

Congressman Harold “Hal” Rogers (KY-05) checked in on tornado recovery efforts across the 5th Congressional District, making stops in West Liberty and Salyersville on Friday. After toured damaged areas, Rogers met with local officials to discuss his efforts in Washington DC to find additional emergency funding options for the recovery process and his request to Federal Emergency Management Agency for a long-term commitment in the rebuilding process.

"Now that the shock of the extreme damage has passed and large portions of debris have been moved aside, we face the tough and complex work of rebuilding," said Rogers. "We’re going to do everything we can to restore southern and eastern Kentucky. I believe that once the dust settles, this will be a success story for families and communities across our region."

A total of 14 Kentucky counties are now eligible for Public Assistance, including Ballard, Grant, Johnson, Kenton, Larue, Laurel, Lawrence, Magoffin, Martin, Menifee, Morgan, Pendleton, Trimble, and Wolfe. Public Assistance is available to state and local governments and certain non-profit organizations for repairs and emergency work.

A total of 21 counties in the Commonwealth are eligible for Individual Assistance, including, Bath, Campbell, Carroll, Grant, Grayson, Johnson, Kenton, Larue, Laurel, Lawrence, Magoffin, Martin, Meniffee, Morgan, Montgomery, Ohio, Pendleton, Rowan, Russell, Trimble and Wolfe counties. Individual Assistance is available to individuals and households for certain storm-related services/repairs.

This week the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) announced that it is postponing certain federal tax deadlines for Kentuckians who live in, or have business in: Bath, Campbell, Carroll, Grant, Grayson, Johnson, Kenton, Larue, Laurel, Lawrence, Magoffin, Martin, Menifee, Montgomery, Morgan, Ohio, Pendleton, Rowan, Russell, Trimble or Wolfe counties.

This special relief includes an extension of the April 17 deadline for filing 2011 federal individual income tax returns, making income tax payments and offering 2011 contributions to an individual retirement account. The extension is until May 31st, 2012.

In addition, the IRS is waiving failure-to-deposit penalties for employment and excise tax deposits due on or after Feb. 29, and on or before March 15, as long as the deposits are made by March 15, 2012. Additional information regarding this tax relief may be found at Kentucky honors federal extensions related to disaster relief for filing of income tax returns, including payment of tax due.

All storm victims should begin the registration process whether or not their home counties have been designated for federal assistance. These individuals should contact the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) at (800) 621-3362 or TTY (800) 462-7585 for persons with speech or hearing disabilities. Additional information about this disaster and required forms to apply for assistance are available at The disaster declaration number is FEMA-4057-DR. The deadline to apply is May 7th, 2012.

Rogers has served Kentucky’s 5th Congressional District since 1981. With a focus on economic development, job creation, fighting illegal drugs and preserving Appalachia’s natural treasures, he has a reputation for listening to his constituents and fighting for the region he represents. For more information visit