Press Releases

Tonight, Congressman Harold “Hal” Rogers (KY-05) released the following statement following the Federal Emergency Management Agency's (FEMA) additional designation of Magoffin and Wolfe counties for Individual Assistance (IA) in connection with President Obama's Major Emergency Disaster Declaration (FEMA-4057-DR) earlier this week. 

"Tonight, the residents of nine additional counties, including Magoffin and Wolfe are now eligible for FEMA Individual Assistance. The recovery process is trying, and the addition of these southern and eastern Kentucky counties is welcomed relief for storm survivors who are in desparate need for financial assistance," said Rogers. "Federal funds are critical for our storm-ravaged families to find temporary housing, begin home repairs, and meet basic needs. Nothing will replace lost loved ones, family heirlooms, and treasured pictures, but this is an important step and should shine a ray of hope on our region."

A total of 16 Kentucky counties are now eligible for Individual Assistance, including Bath, Campbell, Carroll, Grant, Johnson, Kenton, Laurel, Lawrence, Magoffin, Martin, Meniffee, Morgan, Montgomery, Pendleton, Rowan, and Wolfe counties. Individual Assistance is available to individuals and households for certain storm-related services/repairs.

Eligibility for Public Assistance (available to state and local governments and certain non-profit organizations for repairs/emergency work) is still being evaluated at this time.

To register for FEMA assistance call (800) 621-3362 or TTY (800) 462-7585 for persons with speech or hearing disabilities. Additional information about this disaster and required forms to apply for assistance are available at  In order to apply for individual assistance, an applicant should have on hand his/her social security number, current and pre-disaster address, telephone number to be contacted, insurance information, total household annual income, bank routing and account numbers, and a description of losses that were caused by the disaster.  The disaster declaration number is FEMA-4057-DR.