Press Releases

WASHINGTON, DC -- The deadline for East Kentucky flood survivors to apply for federal assistance from FEMA is Wednesday, September 28, but Kentucky's Congressional Delegation says residents need more time. In a letter to the FEMA administration, U.S. Rep. Hal Rogers, Dean of the House, joined U.S. Senate Republican Leader Mitch McConnell, Sen. Rand Paul, and Congressmen Andy Barr, James Comer, Brett Guthrie, Thomas Massie and John Yarmuth in requesting a 30-day extension to allow more time for individuals to seek funding to rebuild homes and repair property.  

"As you know, the severity of this flooding event has displaced thousands of Kentuckians, many of whom are still seeking temporary shelter and basic needs as they work to rebuild their lives. The continued rain and challenging topography of this emergency has created a prolonged response phase and more time is needed to ensure that all eligible individuals are able to apply for the assistance they so desperately need," the letter stated.

FEMA has disbursed more than $67.6 million in Individual Assistance for housing and other needs since the Major Disaster Declaration was issued. While many applications are still being processed and other claims have been appealed, the delegation is concerned for individuals who still do not have resources to request assistance.  

"Further, many Kentuckians have expressed challenges in registering for assistance with FEMA, which has been complicated by damages to critical infrastructure that in some cases prevented Eastern Kentuckians from traveling to in-person registration centers or registering through telephone or internet based services. More time is needed for those who have not yet been able to register, and this extension will help ensure our most vulnerable families are not left behind," the delegation expressed in the letter.

Individuals living in the following counties are eligible for housing assistance and other needs: Breathitt, Clay, Floyd, Knott, Lee, Leslie, Letcher, Magoffin, Martin, Owsley, Perry, Pike and Whitley counties. To apply for FEMA assistance, call the FEMA Helpline at 800-621-3362 or visit

Click here to download the letter.