Press Releases

WASHINGTON, DC - U.S. Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell, Senator Rand Paul, and Representatives Hal Rogers (KY-05), John Yarmuth (KY-03), Brett Guthrie (KY-02), Thomas Massie (KY-04), Andy Barr (KY-06), and James Comer (KY-01) sent a letter to President Donald Trump expressing their support of Governor Andy Beshear’s request for a federal disaster declaration for Kentucky.

In the letter to the President, the delegation wrote, “As of March 24, 2020, Kentucky has confirmed 124 cases of COVID-19 and 4 fatalities. As the Governor indicated in his request, when Kentucky is able to expand testing, it is certain the infection number will significantly increase.”

Additionally, the delegation referenced the Governor declared a State of Emergency, 119 counties have declared States of Emergency, and 110 cities have declared local States of Emergency. They continued, “the Commonwealth of Kentucky is in tremendous need of assistance for its citizens whose lives have been critically disrupted by this event. We ask for your timely consideration of the Governor’s major disaster declaration request, which would aid Kentucky communities and families that continue to be severely impacted by COVID-19.”

The entire Commonwealth of Kentucky has been significantly and severely impacted by the spread of the Coronavirus. Everyone is encouraged to follow the facts, listen to the experts, and take smart and calm precautions as appropriate. Every American can access up-to-date recommendations for their own personal circumstances at