Press Releases

Congressman “Hal” Rogers (KY-05) invites all high school students in the Fifth Congressional District to participate in the 2012 Congressional Art Competition. 

Thousands of high school students from across the nation participate in the annual Congressional Art Competition. One winner from each Congressional District is chosen to have their artwork displayed at the Capitol for one year, where more than three million visitors pass through every year.  

"The Congressional Art Competition is a great opportunity to display the talent in southern and eastern Kentucky on a national stage," said Rogers. "Our region of the country is known for incredible artistry and I enjoy seeing a piece of home hanging in the hallway of the Capitol, representing our small part of the nation."

Last year, Emily Tackett submitted the winning artwork from Breathitt County High School. She submitted a charcoal drawing entitled "Brother Returns from War," a recreation of her grandmother's reunion with her brother during World War II. Emily and her family attended the annual Awards Ceremony in Washington, DC and viewed her artwork on display in the Capitol.

Click here for competition guidelines and information. Artwork must be two-dimensional, and each framed piece must be no larger than 28” x 28” x 4”. All artwork is due at coordinating Congressional District Offices listed below by April 20, 2012.

The top three regional winners will be chosen from the Somerset, Prestonsburg and Hazard District Offices. The winning artwork will be displayed in the United States Capitol and the winner will receive two free airline tickets to Washington, DC for an annual Awards Ceremony. Winners may also be eligible to receive an artistic college scholarship.

For more information, contact Chelsea Whalen in Rogers' Washington, DC office at 202-225-4601 or

Artwork should be submitted to the following district offices as indicated by county.

Prestonsburg District Office (Bath, Floyd, Johnson, Lawrence, Magoffin, Martin, Morgan, Pike and Rowan counties) 
110 Resource Court
Suite A 
Prestonsburg, KY 41653

Hazard District Office (Breathitt, Knott, Lee, Leslie, Letcher, Menifee, Owsley, Perry and Wolfe counties) 
601 Main Street
Hazard, KY 41701

Somerset District Office (Bell, Clay, Harlan, Jackson, Knox, Laurel, McCreary, Pulaski, Rockcastle, Wayne and Whitley counties)
551 Clifty Street
Somerset, KY 42503

Click here for the Artwork Student Guidelines document