Press Releases

U.S. Congressman Hal Rogers (KY-05) announced today that the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has designated Bath, Breathitt, Jackson, Knott, Laurel, Lee, Magoffin, Menifee, Owsley, Perry, Pulaski, Rockcastle, Rowan, Wayne, and Wolfe Counties as eligible for farm disaster assistance due to losses caused by severe storms and flooding earlier this year.

“I am grateful that USDA Secretary Tom Vilsack has designated these counties as eligible for farm disaster assistance,” said Rogers. “The damaging winds, flooding, mudslides and severe storms in early May wreaked havoc on our local farm operations. While more challenges lie ahead, this designation will go a long way toward helping our growers and cattlemen receive emergency loans and financial support that they so desperately need to stay afloat.”

In May, Congressman Rogers sent a letter to Secretary Tom Vilsack in support of this agricultural emergency designation, and today’s announcement makes available USDA disaster aid to support farm operations.

Farmers in eligible counties have 8 months to apply for emergency loan assistance. The Farm Service Agency (FSA) will consider each emergency loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of production losses, security available, and repayment ability. Supplemental Revenue Assistance Payments (SURE) Program applications for 2010 crop losses will be accepted in 2011, when the 2010 farm revenue data required by statute becomes available. Local FSA offices can provide affected farmers with further information.

Rogers has served Kentucky’s 5th Congressional District since 1981. With a focus on economic development, job creation, fighting illegal drugs and preserving Appalachia’s natural treasures, he has a reputation for listening to his constituents and fighting for the region he represents. For more information visit