Press Releases

U.S. Congressman Hal Rogers (KY-05) has appointed eight community leaders from Southern and Eastern Kentucky to serve on Kentucky’s Fifth District Congressional Award Committee. The Congressional Award recognizes students who are active in their communities and helps them achieve goals they set to better themselves and the world around them. From public service, personal development, physical fitness and exploration, this prestigious program recognizes our youth for all their hard work and gives them the tools they need to succeed in life.

“I am honored to be part of the Congressional Award program and I am grateful for each and every member serving on this District Committee,” said Rogers. “As coaches, teachers, mentors and more, these eight individuals are an inspiration to our students and will help them to achieve their dreams. When our young people know that they have the support of those around them, there is no limit to what they can achieve. I want to encourage each and every student throughout Southeastern Kentucky to participate in this program. The strength of our region is from our people, and I for one want to ensure that our future leaders are recognized for their hard work and have every opportunity available to them.”

The Congressional Award was created by Congress in order to promote and recognize initiative, service and achievement in America’s youth. The Congressional Award provides a unique opportunity for young people to set and achieve personally challenging goals that build character and foster community service, personal development, and citizenship. All students are encouraged to participate and can register online at

The Congressional Award District Committee is made up of individuals from all parts of the region with different backgrounds. These individuals will be the voice of the program in their respective areas and will serve as a point of contact for students, teachers, mentors and individuals with questions. Students throughout the region are already active in sports teams, PRIDE and UNITE youth programs, volunteerism and more. It is the goal of the District Committee to reach out to these students and give them the opportunity to be recognized for all that they are currently doing within their communities.

Members Appointed to Kentucky’s Fifth District Congressional Award Committee:

Ron Daley, Senior Director of Advancement and Government Relations for Hazard Community and Technical College, Board Member for Knott, Perry, Breathitt and Magoffin counties
Larry Sparks, Superintendent for Leslie County Schools, Board Member for Bell, Rowan, Menifee, Harlan and Leslie counties
Braxton King, Director for The Lord’s Gym, Board Member for Wayne, McCreary and Whitley counties
Scott Parkey, Football Coach for Rockcastle County High School, Board Member for Rockcastle and Jackson counties
Tony Tackett, Pikeville Tourism Director, Board Member for Pike, Martin, Floyd, Letcher and Morgan counties
Jennifer Carroll, Owsley County Instructional Supervisor and consultant for the Kentucky Department of Education, Board Member for Owsley, Lee, Wolfe, Johnson and Lawrence counties
Dr. Deann Allen, Clay County Instructional Supervisor, Board Member for Clay, Laurel and Knox counties
Jessica Melton, Director of Leadership and Training for the Center for Rural Development, Board Member for Pulaski county

PHOTO: Amy Stroud, Board Members Braxton King, Larry Sparks, Ron Daily, Jennifer Carroll and Tony Tackett